An association for alumni and supporters of The Daily Texan

Friends of The Daily Texan

An association for alumni and supporters of The Daily Texan

Friends of The Daily Texan

An association for alumni and supporters of The Daily Texan

Friends of The Daily Texan

Contact Information
Friends of The Daily Texan, Inc.
1401 Lavaca St
Austin, TX 78701

[email protected]

Nominations open for Texan Hall of Fame

The Friends of The Daily Texan is pleased to announce nominations are now open for The Daily Texan Hall of Fame awards. These awards recognize Daily Texan alumni who have led distinguished careers and individuals who have demonstrated support for The Daily Texan.

Since it began publishing five days a week in 1913, The Daily Texan has been a springboard for journalists who have gone on to distinguished careers chronicling politics and the White House; civil rights battles at home and wars in distant lands; science, culture, sports and more—and to win Pulitzers, Emmys and other awards doing so. The Texan also has benefitted from guidance and support from accomplished individuals within academia and outside of the media.

After a rigorous nomination and selection process, the 2015 Hall of Fame awards will be presented at the Oct. 16 annual meeting of Friends of The Daily Texan. The inaugural awards were presented in 2013, and first-year winners included Walter Cronkite, Lady Bird Johnson, Bill Moyers and nine other distinguished Daily Texan alumni. Please read details of previous honorees at

Nominations for the 2015 Daily Texan Hall of Fame awards must be submitted by Sept. 9, 2015.

To submit a nomination, you may download and fill out the form at

The questions on the nomination form also are posted at the bottom of this email. You may submit your nomination by forwarding this email with your answers to [email protected]

Honorees will be selected by the board of directors of Friends of The Daily Texan, following recommendations from the nominating committee.

Categories include:

— Editorial Awards—For nominees from the editorial side of the media, including reporters, editors, columnists, cartoonists, web producers, etc.

— Publisher Awards—For nominees from the business side of the media, including advertising, circulation, sales, publishing, events.

— Longhorn Leader – For nominees who have achieved national success outside the media.

— Rising Stars—For nominees age 30 and under.

— Lifetime Achievement—For nominees who have devoted their entire careers to and achieved excellence in journalism.

— Legacy Awards—For nominees who are deceased.

— Griff Singer Award: Individuals who are not Daily Texan alumni, but who have demonstrated extraordinary support for The Daily Texan and its student journalists, may be considered for the Griff Singer Award. This award recognizes individuals who have acted on behalf of The Daily Texan in exemplary and outstanding ways. That may include having taught and/or advised students at The Daily Texan, such as journalism professors and instructors, or persons outside academia who have supported the Texan, such as media lawyers who defend its reporters and editors on issues involving freedom of the press.

If you don’t have answers to all of the items in on the form, please fill out to the best of your ability.

Form for nominations

Nominations must be submitted by Sept. 9, 2015.

  • Your name, address, contact information including telephone and email address;
  • Nominee’s current place of employment or, if retired or deceased, last place of employment;
  • Years of work/positions held at The Daily Texan (if applicable);
  • Professional resume;
  • At least three examples of the nominee’s best work;
  • Journalism awards or commendations;
  • Other examples of major contributions to the field, including (but not limited to) championing First Amendment issues; holding leadership positions in state, regional or national journalism organizations; mentoring Daily Texan journalists, etc.;
  • At least two letters of recommendation.

The Friends of The Daily Texan board will seek to name at least five (5) honorees each year, preferably with at least half in the Editorial Awards category to honor editorial excellence. There will be no requirement to name a specific number of awards in non-editorial categories.

We look forward to receiving your nominations. Please message

[email protected] with questions or with your nominations.